Polocrosse

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ever since I was born I have been around horses, I practically grew up on their backs. At 5 years old I started playing Polocrosse with the rest of my family. Polocrosse is a sport similar to polo but instead of a mallet you have a racquet. It is kind of like lacrosse on horseback. It’s a family based, competitive sport. Polocrosse is not just a hobby of mine, it also has allowed me to compete over seas.

In 2012 I got the opportunity to travel to Queensland, Australia on an U.S. Under 16 Developmental team with 5 other players. Australia is where polocrosse originated and is home to some of the best players and horses in the world. We competed against and played with Australian teams while being hosted by different families. We were there for two weeks and played one tournament each weekend and stayed with two different families during the week. I’ve always felt like the trips were you get to experience other peoples lives hands on are the best. During the week we got to experience what it was like living on a farm on the outskirts of Australia. To this day this one of my most memorable experiences. It blew my mind how different their day-to-day lives were in comparison to mine. Both the families I stayed with were wonderful, I felt like part of the family the whole time I was there.

I’m hoping to follow in my mothers footsteps and make the 2019 U.S. World Cup team and travel to Australia again to compete against some of the best players and teams in the world. Polocrosse has given me endless connections around the world. I am forever gratefulย for all the things polocrosse has given to me.

Leave a Reply

